This article is part of the Source-Connect Standard and Source-Connect Pro/Pro X 3.9 User Guides
Request timeout: 30 seconds
This is the time required to reply to the confirmation dialog when establishing audio session. If you make a request, and see that your user stays listed as ‘busy’, you know that they are online, but are away from their computer. You can cancel your request at any time by pressing disconnect.
If the audio session is established but no audio data is received your ‘receiving’ blinker light will stop blinking to let you know that the network is not sending you any audio. If this happens during your session, try disconnecting and reconnecting with a lower bitrate setting.
Source-Connect session timeout
Source-Connect keeps your connection alive indefinitely, until you either log out or disconnect your network. In some cases you may receive a dialogue ‘Connection reset by peer’: this means you were unexpectedly disconnected – usually because your network was no longer responding. Go ahead and reconnect. If the problem persists it is usually due to insufficient bandwidth resources.
Automatic reconnection in case of Network failure
Source-Connect will also recognize if the connection has been lost with the Source-Connect servers. If this is the case, it will not disconnect your session automatically, but continue to assume that your Contact partner is still available. Once the server connection is restored you will see an Instant Message stating this. This is a new feature designed to help in cases where network anomalies stop you from making a server connection, but you may still have peer-to-peer network service and you can continue with your audio session.